Posted by: lauragoes | February 5, 2009

Cannabis

Funny story. I collect earrings and I plan to buy a pair in every port. In Morocco, I noticed that there are palm trees everywhere, since Morocco has a Mediterranean climate. So, at the souk (market) last night, I found this really cute pair of dangly earrings, with a green bead and then, what I thought was a palm leaf hanging below that. I bartered for them and paid about 50 dirham for the pair, about $6. Later that evening, while eating dinner, I showed my friends my new earrings. They all asked why I would buy earrings with a marijuana plant on them. What? You have to understand, even though I am traveling the world, I am still pretty naïve at heart. I was mortified that I had purchased as my “morocco earrings” earrings with weed on them. I assured the group that I really didn’t know what it was I had purchased, and I’ve never even been around weed. Needless to say, I am saving my earrings for next time I am a hippie for Halloween… oh well.


Responses

  1. Laurabelle, I laughed as I read this as I know how you love to collect earrings. Thanks for sharing and we are glad you are back safe and sound on the mothership, once again. Love, Mom

  2. I really enjoyed your blog about Morocco…you write really well…I could almost close my eyes and experience it! Especially if I had on those earrings! We love you and miss you…..got the postcard from Spain, thanks! xxx, Aunt J.

  3. I heard this story from Daniel first and then just now read it. Hilarious!!!
    Don’t wait until Halloween to wear them…I’m sure they would work for climbing at the Red this fall 😛

  4. DON’T SMOKE THE EARRINGS.

    Aunt Janice


Leave a comment

Categories